Take My Advice

Why You Should Go To An Antique Store

An antique store can have things you can’t find any place else. I usually shop at Goodwill but I go to an antique store for a bunch of stamps, postcards, and other stationary items. In my opinion, there’s a secret to shopping at goodwill and an antique store. You just gotta know what you’re looking for an have an open mind. Anyways, if you’ve never gone to an antique store than you should go as soon as possible! You’ll find so many different kind of treasures.

Here’s what you’ll find at an antique store!

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 1.08.36 PM

Rotary phone— if you don’t know already, a rotary phone was used by rotating the dial to the number instead of pressing buttons. I think these are great accessory pieces to any home. You may not be able to use them but putting it up on display can make things come together. My aunt has a bunch on antiques above her kitchen cabinets, including a light blue rotary phone. It’s my favorite piece!

Typewriters— most people end up buying these for the keys. I’ve seen people turn them into magnets for their fridge, necklaces, and wall art. But, I think keeping it all together and putting it in your living room or on a desk is a nice accessory piece. I don’t think I could take them apart. I mean, they’re a little pricey and it can be hard to find one in good condition.

Bottles and cans— these little bottles are very popular at antique stores. Cheap too. You might be wonder why someone would buy these or what to do with them. Well, you can repurpose them into something useful. Like putting them in your kitchen and turning them into salt and pepper shakers, or fill with flour and sugar. I bought a larger one and used it to store my sewing kit.


What things have you found at an antique store? Anything rare and unique that you’d like to share? Comment below 🙂

 

11 thoughts on “Why You Should Go To An Antique Store

  1. That pink phone is so cute! What I love about antique stores is that the things yu purchase hold their value. For instance, I purchased an adorable antique corner table three years ago, and last week I sold it for more than I purchased it for! So they are costly but have the potential to be an investment of sorts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You found a lot of wonderful things! I actually buy all of my jewellery from antique stores. Unfortunately, I haven’t found a typewriter, yet… that would be lovely. If you ever go to antique or thrift stores again, do make a post about it because it’s extremely interesting. Have a nice day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Antique stores are also really good for finding super adorable plates and cups for a kitchen, fab post!

    I’m new to blogging and hope to do some similar posts to these, i would love it if you could check out my page and give me a follow? xx

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think :)

