Get To Know Me · Lifestyle

Lessons I’ve learned In College

Awhile back, I wrote about What I Would Tell My Younger Self and it got me thinking about my school years. I am now a senior in college. Boy did time fly. I’ve still got a few more years left, since I’m applying for graduate school, but I feel like there is a lot I’ve learned over the years. It’s very different than high school. You’re off on your own, doing what you want to do, and discovering yourself. I decided to come up with a list of things I learned while being in college. Most, were things I regretted not doing. So I hope I can help prevent any of you feeling this way!

IT’S OKAY NOT KNOWING YOUR MAJOR

Most people don’t know until the end of their sophomore year. So don’t feel pressured into anything. It takes time. My advice, if you are still deciding, choose a career you love and one you’d be good at. Try to avoid going for career based off your hobbies. You’ll end up hating it and it’ll suck all the joy out! Take some questionnaires, talk to your counselor, or do different job shadows to get a better feel at what you want to do.

YOU NEED TO GET INVOLVED

This is your best way of making friends and having a social life. There are so many different kind of clubs out there. I’m sure you’ll find something your passionate about! And people who love the same things you do. Also, being active during your college years is important in helping you grow and discover who you are. I joined a few clubs and they helped me figure out my major.

MAKING FRIENDS IS JUST AS IMPORTANT

Yeah that sounds a little odd but it’s true. I’ve been to three different colleges and here, at the University of Iowa, I stopped trying to make friends. And now, I’m reaching senior year and feel, well, lonely. You are going to college to get a degree which involves studying. But you’re also there to discover yourself and start your life. I believe our relationships help define us, what we want, and what we think we deserve.

ALWAYS USE A PLANNER

Naturally, I am pretty organized. I love my charts, notes, and calendars. They keep me together and on track, obviously. In college, a planner is a must. Of course, if you aren’t reaching for good grades, then maybe not. At my college, we have lectures and discussion sections for every class, so instead of fives classes, we have about 10. With twice as much homework to keep track of. So, buy yourself a planner and use it!

TAKE UP EVERY OPPORTUNITY

There are so many days spent worrying and stressing that relaxing and having fun is put on the back burner. Like I mentioned before, college isn’t just about getting your degree, it’s about enjoying your life with your friends, family, and other loved ones. It’s about creating new memories that will last a life time. So try and make college fun, like it’s supposed to be!


That’s all I’ve got for today! If you are in college, I’d love to hear something about it. Like what you are studying, your favorite memory, your experiences. Let me know in the comments down below! 🙂Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 11.34.27 PM

21 thoughts on “Lessons I’ve learned In College

  1. This is great! This is actually my 3rd year being in University but for some very odd reason I still don’t have friends to hang out with. I mean, I have made a bunch of friends but we never hang out. Haha. Does this even make any sense? I’m still enjoying being there though because I am doing what I absolutely love – Digital Arts, Media and Drama. I’m always intrigued 😃.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. 100% agree with the “take every opportunity” one. Random things will fall into your lap in college and those are the times when you can get out of your comfort zone and discover who you are. Love college!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re so right with a lot of these things. I think number 3 is really important. I also wanted to go to college only for studying, but making friends is super important. There are a lot of activities at school or after school and it’s super fun to participate with your friends from college! I also think planning is key! I planned the whole year now and everything went fine. Only the last couple of weeks, I didn’t have motivation so I didn’t plan and study well. Well, I’ve known that now haha, I immediately failed on an exam! Oh and thank you for reminding my on number 5, that is also super important. I think it would be nice if you could make a blogpost about how you plan your homework or everything else involving your study? I’d be really interested to read that. Wish you a lovely weekend, xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this! Thank you for the advice! I will be taking online summer classes to finish up my freshman year which makes it a little difficult to find friends but I am working on putting myself out there beyond school surrounding. I am at co​mmunity college right now which is more particular when it comes to figuring out what your major will be; thank you for the tips!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome tips! Making friends is something that I’ve found very helpful at TAFE. My friend and I will ask each other questions whilst preparing for our exam and do our homework together. This has made it a whole lot easier to learn as we both think differently and she might ask something which is very helpfully for me to know about but I may never have thought about asking that question. Hopefully that made sense? It’s passed my bed time, lol! xxx

    Like

  6. I graduated college four years ago, and I have to agree with you about friends. If I didn’t have any friends, that would have been really hard on me. When I was stressed, I turned to my friends for support, and to destress. Many of my friends I met through one friend I made personally. So I feel like if you can at least make one or two close friends on your own, you’re good to go. 🙂 Thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. love this post! 🙂 In New Zealand we just call it University (or tertiary) and I think its a little different, but this post helped nonetheless 🙂 I’m having so much of a struggle deciding what to do when i go at the end of next year haha 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  8. These are so great!! I relate to #1 so hard – I went through 3 majors before I picked 2 completely different ones! And you’re so right on #3, I didn’t realize it until my second semester, but having a solid group of friends has made college so much better.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think :)

