Featured Series · Weekly Inspiration

Weekly Inspiration: Mental Health

It’s Monday, so that means it’s time for a weekly inspiration post! This will be my second time doing this. Last week, my Weekly Inspiration: Becoming A Morning Person post was a lot of fun! People seemed to really enjoy it. The point of this series is to get to know other bloggers and make them feel appreciated. We are a big community after all. For this week, I chose a post that was published two weeks ago but I loved it so much that I had to do it for this week! Anyways, let’s get down to it!

Here’s how it works!

  • Every Monday I will post a weekly inspiration post
  • I will pick one post published within the last week (or two weeks)
  • The blogger will be tagged and I’ll provide a little introduction
  • I will tag a post that I enjoyed most
  • I’ll mention why it caught my attention and what I liked about it

Here’s an introduction to the blogger I chose!

Ella May Garrett is a 20 year old from Cambridgeshire, England. She loves fashion, organization, and her cats. This blog was meant to be an escape from her mental health diagnosis and uses her blog as a positive platform. She is a strong, young woman that is living her life and sharing with the blogging community.

Here’s the post I really enjoyed this week!

She wrote a post called My Mental Health Update. I instantly clicked on this because, well, I know what she’s going through. I was diagnosed with severe depression when I was 16 and for the past 5 years, it’s been a struggle. I’m no longer suicidal and I have gotten better. She was diagnosed with Atypical depression which is a type of major depression where your mood improves due to positive events. But, can instantly drop due to negative events. We may not have EXACTLY the same diagnosis, but, I know how hard it is to open up to people. Feeling vulnerable is a scary thing.

While reading, I felt proud of her which is why I chose her post for this weeks inspiration. I love that she knows what helps her feel better. Like going for a walk or stepping back and taking a deep breath. She is growing stronger each day and I believe that she will be better. When you have depression, it’s hard to know how to help yourself. No one else can do it. People can help us, but they can’t heal us. Medicine can only go so far. Same with counseling. In therapy, it’s the professionals job to help guide you. Help you realize what you need to do, not give you instructions.

If you are going through a mental health problem, I encourage you to share, just like she did. Because we are not alone! We are all going through something and we all need to stick together.


Thanks for reading everyone! I would love to hear any ideas you might have to make my weekly inspiration posts better. Comment below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Weekly Inspiration: Mental Health

  1. Loved this post, and I’m going to check out her blog! I’m so glad you talk about the power of the individual in depression. It feels like you can’t do anything, and you’re stuck, but the reins are right beside us. I’m so glad you are open, and share when you struggled. People who have never been depressed, which is good for them, won’t understand. Sharing experiences is what helps us as a community, and we can be encouraging to each other.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This was exactly what I needed to read right now. I can’t believe you have said such amazing words and taken the time to post this. You are an incredible woman who is so strong and it is people like you who inspire me to keep focused on improving my mental health every day! Thank you my darling xxxxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think :)

