Lifestyle · Take My Advice

What To Do When You Travel

I love exploring and finding new adventures. I don’t like to travel too far from home mostly because I get car sick. Perfectly fine with plane rides, but, they’re expensive. Still, traveling is fun! Today, I want to give a few tips on what you should be doing while on vacation. I feel like most people miss out on important things so I hope you’ll feel inspired after reading. BTW all of my photos were from The USS Lexington Museum down in Corpus Christi, Texas!

BUY A SOUVENIR

This is a must for me. I usually buy something small so I can fit it in my bag or suitcase. I have a collection of keychains so when ever I travel, I buy one. Last year, when I went to San Antonio, I bought one at the airport, the Lexington museum, one at a gift shop in Corpus Christi, the zoo, and The Alamo. They were all so cheap! Sometimes I buy a t-shirt but it can get expensive. To me, a souvenir is important. Something to look back on and remember where you’ve been.

LEARN SOMETHING NEW

History is one of my favorite subjects. I always have to check out something historical when I travel. Usually a museum or historical site does the trick. I went to The Alamo in San Antonio and it was so beautiful. I mean, going some place tropical is nice and all, but, learning something new is so much better! I could go to a hundred beaches and they would all feel and look the same. A museum or historical site can’t be replicated. It’s only going to be at that one particular place. So why not check it out!

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 2.35.44 PM

TAKE LOTS OF PICTURES

You can never get enough of these. When I travel, I tend to delete a lot of my photos. Which sucks when you’re trying to find that ONE particular picture that you don’t have anymore. When I was in Texas, I took a lot of neat pictures of the beach and the zoo. But, I only kept two from the beach and one from the zoo. I really regret it now. So don’t delete! Print them out or save them on a flash drive. Those memories are important and you’ll want to look at them again some day. Even if you don’t think so now, trust me, you will.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 1.42.10 PM

DO SOMETHING YOU WOULDN’T NORMALLY DO

This really could be anything. It could be swimming with dolphins or joining a dance class that’s unique where you’re traveling (hula dancing, salsa, country line dancing, etc.) Maybe doing something adventurous like scuba diving. The point is, do something you wouldn’t get the chance to do when at home. Create new memories and be adventurous!

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 1.42.19 PM

TAKE SOME TIME TO RELAX

When ever I travel, I need at least a few hours to relax whether it’s by the pool, the beach, or even in my hotel room. I’m the type of person that loves to explore and pack as many activities in one day as possible. So taking time to relax is very important, otherwise, you’ll be so drained from all the excitement that you will feel cranky and irritable. You defiantly don’t want that while on vacation!


Thanks for reading everyone! I hope the next time you travel, you’ll keep some of these tips in mind. I would love to hear what you like to do on vacation and what you think is an important part of traveling. Comment below πŸ™‚Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 11.34.27 PM

10 thoughts on “What To Do When You Travel

  1. Take pictures and do what you don’t normally do(that’s right) When It’s time to travel I’ll just delete some files in my phone to get enough space for my pics taking, cool post

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with all of these! Definitely taking pictures- I have over 19,000 on my phone (over the past two years). I’ll be going on vacation starting this weekend for a week, so expect to see a ton of pics in a post after that xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good tips! I especially relate to the relax one. I can get very cranky very quickly if I’ve been out and about in the sun all day and I haven’t had enough to eat or any time to sit down and relax. Sometimes we are so busy trying to pack everything into a day that we forget a vacation is meant for relaxing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like your point to learn something! Vacation shouldn’t be about lazy relaxation only, but enriching intellectually without a great effort will definitely be rewarding!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think :)

