Lifestyle · Travel With Me

If You’re Wandering In Iowa City

I am originally from Cedar Rapids but now, I live in Iowa City and go to the University of Iowa! It’s very different from my home town. Some good and some bad. I don’t like the people. Most are rude and mean. I guess it’s a college town after all. The parking is terrible. Always worry I’ll get a ticket. Traffic sucks too. People can’t drive here. Anyways, enough of my ranting, let’s get down to the good stuff about Iowa City!

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IOWA CITY

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 4.02.32 PM

THE DOWNTOWN AREA

Last weekend, the town hosted a block party. There was vendors, games everywhere, volleyball tournaments, an outside movie theatre, some dance parties. It was so much fun! I ended up going with my best friend and her friends, who I’ve never met before. I like them but, they’re kind of the people who are on their phones all the time and focus on taking pictures all the time. Not really my style.

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 3.58.40 PM

THE FARMERS MARKET

My town’s market is much bigger but I like the style of the one here. All of the food vendors serve breakfast. Smoothies, coffee, breakfast pizza, burritos with eggs and bacon. I’m not much of a breakfast person but it’s a nice place to visit and check out what locals are selling or making. My boyfriends mom makes these cement leaves and sells them. They are perfect for the garden and very beautiful!

THE RESTAURANTS

There are so many different kinds of places to eat. It’s fun getting to try new food every once in awhile. My new favorite is Darling Dumplings. Also, there’s a lot of food carts. I usually see 5 out during the day and maybe 10 parked outside of the bars at night. One sells these great grilled cheese sandwiches. Honestly, I’m not sure if they’re really that great because everything tastes amazing when you’ve been drinking.

THE ART SUPPORT

Every year, there is an arts festival and encourages people to paint murals and the benches! Some are really pretty and interesting. I think it’s called benchmarks. You should check it out on Instagram. I think it’s just #benchmarks. Most of the sidewalks and drain covers have inspirational quotes or messages on them. Like from important people in this town. It’s fun reading them.


If you have never traveled to Iowa City, you should give it a try. I think you’d really love the town, the stores, the restaurants, and all the beauty behind it. Let me know if you’ve ever visited here or thought about it!Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 11.34.27 PM

11 thoughts on “If You’re Wandering In Iowa City

Tell me what you think :)

