Lifestyle · Take My Advice

Your First Year Of College

College is a big step and one of the most exciting parts of our lives. We all look forward to the parties, the friendships and relationships. In my case, the boys too! But there’s more to it. You discover who you really are. What you like, what you want, and more importantly what you need in life. I’ve learned who my real friends are and how independent I’ve become. First year is the starting point to the new you!

NO ONE DRESSES UP FOR CLASS

Literally no one. Maybe on the first day but that’s about it. My wardrobe consists of athletic shorts, t-shirts, and sweatshirts. A little advice, don’t wear your school’s t-shirt on the first day. It’s a red flag for freshman.

YOU’LL APPRECIATE YOUR PARENTS MORE

It’s not easy living on your own. You have to grow up, take responsibility, and make a living WHILE going to school. It’s difficult but you gotta do it.

DON’T SCHEDULE EARLY CLASSES

A lot of classes don’t take attendance so if you have an 8 a.m. class, I doubt you’ll be making it everyday. I like having class around 9 or 10. I can sleep in a little and still be up before noon.

YOU’LL WALK A LOT

My classes used to be across campus so I would walk back and forth all day long. Some days, I walk about 3 miles. Sure it’s great for you but it’s not so fun when you’ve got a heavy backpack and sweating in class. Eww!

THERE’S LESS DRAMA

In high school, everyone was immature and judgmental. When your in college, everyone has real problems. School, work, living on your own. The list goes on. No one cares if your sneakers are old or if you wear the same shirt for 3 days. No more petty crap! Everyone is nicer and is open to making friends.


There’s my short little list! Of course there are more to list but, you know me, I like to keep things simple and to the point. Let me know how college is going for you or what you’ve learned your first year of college. Comment below!Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 11.34.27 PM

 

24 thoughts on “Your First Year Of College

  1. I have never been to collage and I don’t think it is something i will ever get to do because I am now working full time but your tips were helpful and very fun to read. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha definitely don’t dress up for class, but I did love my early courses. I would roll out of bed (still in pajamas), drive the 10 minutes to campus, go to my 8AM class and then go home- back to sleep!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In Portugal, we actually dress up for college. You dress yourself according to your style and no one wears sweatpants. I learned about 8 a.m classes the hard way. I would enroll and swear I would go and then it didn’t happen. 10 or later for my brain to function in a class. Great post 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love this! One thing I wish I’d thought about before going to uni is that technically nobody is required to interact? Its such a change from high school where you know all your classmates by name and talk to at least every so often. In college you can go all year without speaking to anybody in your class directly! (excluding labs obvs)

    I just wish I had noticed it earlier. by the time i realised it i’d almost finished college hadn’t made any solid friends! i did commute to uni, so it was kind of isolating. i joined a few clubs my last three semesters and it was awesome, i wish freshman me didn’t scoff at the idea of uni clubs like they’d be a waste of my time.

    love this list! x
    Jan
    janhern.com

    Like

  5. Having already graduated college, this list is perfect. Especially the morning class part…I remember when I was picking my schedule as an incoming freshman, I was like “oh wow 8:30 is so much later than when HS starts..great!” …and maybe ended up going to that class 5 times total 😳

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think :)

