Get To Know Me · Lifestyle

Bad Things That Taught Me Good Things

Good morning everyone! I hope we’re all have a good start to another day. Today, I want to talk to you about life lessons. Things I had to learn the hard way actually. Bad situations that I actually got something good out of. I’m going to get a little personal, which isn’t easy. So bare with me here and I hope this post will inspire you to write about your own.

BAD RELATIONSHIP

When I was 18-years-old, I dated a guy that was mean, aggressive, and abusive. Yet, I loved him? One night, he dumped me. It hurt so much that I couldn’t sleep in my room because of the pictures. A few days later, he gave me a second chance. We went on two dates and then he ignored me for two weeks. He made me think he was sick so I made a “Get Well Soon” box with all his favorite things. It was humiliating and he made me think I wasn’t a real person.

Takeaway: after all of this, I actually learned to love myself. I became confident and felt strong. Like nothing could break me down or hurt me again. It was empowering. I guess being with a terrible person made me realize how great I am.

ALMOST DROWNED

One summer, my camp and I went to Lost Island. I stood in the wave pool where I could touch the bottom. Then, the waves started. I got swept in and I waved my hands at two lifeguards that were too busy gossiping. I kept going under and then I couldn’t find an open spot because of all the inner-tubes. Then, a hand grabbed mine and pulled me up. A lady helped me out of the water and walked me back to my camp. She saved my life and I will always be grateful.

Takeaway: I want to say this made me realize how short life is, but I’m not going to. How I see it is you can’t rely on the help of others, not everyone at least. It made me more protective of myself and more careful. I don’t run off and do risky things thinking someone will save me. It doesn’t work like that.

BEST FRIEND BETRAYAL 

In 8th grade, I had my first boyfriend. After a year of being together, I learned he cheated which led to our break up. Weeks later, I went to the Iowa State Fair with my best friend, Elizabeth, and her dad. She kept smiling at her phone but wouldn’t tell me why. So, I looked and saw my ex and her talking about their make out sessions. Apparently, she was one of the girls he cheated on me with. I was heartbroken. And guess what else, she rubbed it in my face. Saying “oh, look who’s texting me” or “oh, I just love kissing him” and so on. The worst part, I was an hour away from home and stuck with her the entire day.

Takeaway: I knew she was selfish and sometimes hard to trust but never thought she’d do something like that to me. Now, I don’t let people like her in my life. If I have trouble trusting you, well, you aren’t cut out to be my friend.


Thanks for reading everyone! It was easy writing about all of this. I don’t like getting personal because it makes me feel vulnerable. I’m sure we can all relate. Is there anything you’d like to share with me about life lessons? Comment below!Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 11.34.27 PM.png

21 thoughts on “Bad Things That Taught Me Good Things

  1. I’ve had a similar experience to your first one, and although I would like to think I became a stronger person, I’m not sure if I am. I understand that I deserve better on the surface, but I think subconsciously I have low self-worth, but because of that experience, I’ve sought help, and I hope to be a much healthier person.

    Natalie | http://nataliesalchemy.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry to hear that. Things will get better with time. Somehow, I had a little break through after it happened. It didn’t last but I’m still stronger and more confident in my self. I still am self conscious and scared but I know it won’t last forever. And neither will yours.

      Like

  2. One day I’m sure I’ll write about my ex best friend. That friendship of six years tore my self esteem in half. When we were in 8th grade, and we didn’t stop being friends till my senior year of high school, she stayed over a lot at my house. We took a nap earlier, and she had gotten up. I noticed she had sat on the floor and was reading a book…what I didn’t realize was it was my DIARY! And then she proceeded to get mad at me for things I had wrote down in my diary some a couple years ago. Thank you for being open! It isn’t easy, but you are helping others : )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That sucks that we have to go through bad relationships and dangerous situations, but it’s important to be able to learn from it;) Thanks for sharing your takeouts)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Its so great that you are looking at the positive of these negative situations. I feel like there’s always a silver lining or a lesson to be learned. Way to stay positive!!

    Like

Tell me what you think :)

