Lifestyle · Take My Advice

When You Want To Adopt A Dog

I am considering on adopting a dog sometime in the next few months. I am pretty sure what kind of breed I want but then again, I have to consider what kind is a better fit for me and my lifestyle. This is why I am writing this post. To help those of you who aren’t sure what to do when wanting to adopt a dog. This is what you need to consider!

WHERE YOU LIVE 

Obviously, living in a small apartment without a yard or near a park isn’t an ideal places for many breeds. Like bigger dogs that need more space to run and play. They can’t do that in your home. They can try but they’ll probably break something and that’ll only make you upset.

HEALTHCARE AND AMOUNT OF GROOMING

A lot of people end up adopting a dog and then simply throw it away when they don’t want to pay for the expenses. I seriously hate these kind of people. HATE, HATE, HATE. So don’t be like that. Do the research and know what you’re getting into. Understand the possible expenses and what your breed might have trouble with in the future. Almost half of golden retrievers die from cancer. Beagles are prone to ear infections. Please be responsible.

WHAT YOUR TEMPERAMENT IS

If you are a strict person and don’t like a mess, this is something you need to consider. Also, the amount of hair and drool left around the house. Don’t adopt a dog if you’re just going to yell at it for everything like simply shedding hair. Some dogs might have more energy, be more aggressive, or bark a lot like smaller breeds. These are all factors you need to think about.

HOW ACTIVE YOU ARE

This is important. I know a lot of people want a Husky but this is not the ideal breed for your first dog. They have a lot of energy and you need to take care of that. They need the space, a yard, and an active owner. Someone able to give them more than one walk a day. You may love a certain breed but, it’s not okay to adopt a breed that is only going to get depressed because of your lifestyle.

WHO LIVES IN YOUR HOME

This is also a big one because some dogs don’t do so well around children or other dogs. Putting yourself, family, AND the new dog in a situation like that isn’t good. Make sure you read the information carefully that the people your adopting from provides. If it states that the dog needs to be an only pet in the house, please do. Don’t adopt a dog and than drop it back off the next week. This will damage the dog further and make them feel less trusting.


Adopting a dog or any pet for that matter is no joke. To me, I see my pets as family. If your apartment doesn’t allow dogs, then don’t do it. Don’t put yourself or your pet in that situation. I believe that your life revolves around that animal, not the other way around. You wouldn’t get rid of your child because your apartment doesn’t allow it? You look for another place. All I’m saying is, please be responsible because this is a big and important decision to make. Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 11.34.27 PM

19 thoughts on “When You Want To Adopt A Dog

  1. Aww, that’s so awesome! I can’t wait until you adopt your sweet pup and we get to see loads of pictures! Nothing makes me happier than precious pictures of animals! I rescued a kitty a couple of years ago and she makes my days so much brighter! This is definitely a great list for those that are thinking of adopting a pet as there are a ton of things that should be taken into consideration! Thanks for sharing! xoxo

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I’m so glad I am seeing this post because lately I’ve been thinking of adopting a puppy and grow with him. But I considered the fact that I’m hardly ever home and never really have time for my own self, so how could I possibly raise him well? This has just made me realise that I’m really not ready. Thanks for this Jordyn ✨❤

    Liked by 3 people

Tell me what you think :)

