Get To Know Me · Lifestyle

Lessons From Being On My Own

Living by yourself is scary. Any little bump in the night I FREAK out. I go total ninja and crawl on the floor with my hammer to check out what the noise was. I didn’t do this when I was with my parents, especially with our pets getting up and roaming around at night. It was comforting hearing noise once in awhile.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 9.47.47 AM

DON’T GET STUCK IN YOUR COMFORT ZONE

If you stay at home all the time, you’re going to miss out on opportunities. Especially in college. So get up, drink some coffee, and get out of the house. Run some errands or have a lunch date. Spend time outside of the house. You don’t want to become a couch potato, am I right?

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 11.51.50 AM

YOU HAVE TO TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF

When I feel sick, I want to stay in bad all day. I’m not motivated to stay hydrated, eat, or take medicine. My mom used to look after me but now, no one is there to take care of me anymore so I have to do it myself. It’s my job now and one else is going to do it for me!

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 4.33.18 PM

THE FRIDGE WON’T STOCK ITSELF

When I was living at home, I never had to worry about my spoiled food or cleaning out the fridge. My mom took care of all that. Now that I’m on my own, I have to manage when to eat food before it spoils. Groceries are expensive so it’s important to avoid wasting food!

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 12.18.16 PM

MANAGE YOUR MONEY CAREFULLY

When I was off on my own, I spent a lot of money. Especially on clothes. I had enough for bills but was cutting it close. I’ve learned that unexpected expenses come up like getting your car towed or parking tickets. It’s important to save for those unexpected situations.

YOU HAVE MORE CLEANING TO DO

No more just cleaning your room. Now, you have a kitchen, living room, bedroom, hallway, AND bathroom. My first year alone, I didn’t clean much which brought unwanted guests. Fruit flies. I’ve learned that keeping a smaller trash can helps so I take it out once a week.


I’ve been on my own for almost two years now and it’s a big change from living with your parents. The freedom and the responsibility is different than what I thought it’d be. But, I feel like I’ve learned a lot of things and I’m hoping these will help you! So thank you for reading everyone and I wish you luck to you living on your own!Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 11.34.27 PM

26 thoughts on “Lessons From Being On My Own

  1. I know exactly what you mean about different from expected. I went from living at home to married and had not a single clue how many tasks needed to done to care for my own home. There’s a lot of learning that happens for sure! Nice post, girlie.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think :)

